Administrative Appeals Tribunal

The Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT) hears appeals of administrative decisions of Australian Government ministers, departments, agencies and tribunals. A decision may only be reviewed if a specific piece of legislation grants the AAT the power to review the decision.

The AAT began on 1 July 1976 under the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975 (Cth).

The AAT is authorized to review decisions in over 400 pieces of legislation covering areas such as social security, family assistance, veterans affairs, workers compensation, child support, bankruptcy, civil aviation, citizenship, immigration, corporations, financial services, customs, industry assistance, freedom of information, mutual recognition of occupations, security assessments and passports.

The AAT has five divisions: General Administrative, National Disability Insurance Scheme, Security Appeals, Taxation Appeals and Veterans’ Appeals Divisions

Appeals involve a merits review.  The AAT reconsiders the facts, law and policy relating to the administrative decision on appeal and then makes it’s own decision by affirming, setting aside or varying the decision or remitting the matter back to the administrative decision maker. The tribunal is not bound by the laws of evidence and can inform itself in any manner that it considers appropriate. However, it is required to preform its functions in accordance with the law and is bound by the principles of natural justice and procedural fairness.

AAT decisions may be appealed in the Federal Court of Australia.

The AAT has registries all across Australia. The Sydney Registry is located at level 7, 55 Market Street, Sydney NSW 2000.


1300 00 2088

Mosman Solicitor & Notary

%d bloggers like this: